clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Looks like John Cena is sticking around past SummerSlam

New, 20 comments

At least for one big date in September at Madison Square Garden.

Conventional wisdom, and the schedule WWE’s announced him for thus far, had it that John Cena would work through SummerSlam and jet off back to his various movie & TV commitments.

Maybe his main storyline with Roman Reigns will be a wrap after the Aug. 21 PPV in Las Vegas. But he’s not saying goodbye again at the Biggest Party of the Summer. Because WWE is now promoting him for the Sept. 10 “SuperShow” episode of SmackDown at New York’s Madison Square Garden.

Will he be there to tell us he’s leaving again for a while? To simply pop the crowd in a dark match? Who knows, but it adds a little uncertainty to the angle that’s been playing out since Money in the Bank, and that’s a good thing.

Here’s an updated list of dates and cities on WWE’s “Summer of Cena” tour:

- Monday, July 26: Raw – T-Mobile Center in Kansas City, Mo.

- Friday, July 30: SmackDown – Target Center in Minneapolis

- Saturday, July 31: Supershow – Fiserv Forum in Milwaukee

- Sunday, August 1: Supershow – Little Caesars Arena in Detroit

- Friday, August 6: SmackDown – Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

- Saturday, August 7: Supershow – Hertz Arena in Fort Myers, Fla.

- Monday, August 9: Raw – Amway Center in Orlando, Fla.

- Friday, August 13: SmackDown – BOK Center in Tulsa, Okla.

- Saturday, August 14: Supershow – Spectrum Center in Charlotte, N.C.

- Sunday, August 15: Supershow – Colonial Life Arena in Columbia, S.C.

- Friday, August 20: SmackDown – Footprint Center in Phoenix

- Saturday, August 21: SummerSlam – Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas

- Friday, Sept. 10: SmackDown Supershow - Madison Square Garden