clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WWE announces another Warrior Award recipient for this year’s Hall of Fame

Since this year’s WWE Hall of Fame Ceremony is also a make-up for last year’s being cancelled due to the pandemic, two classes are being inducted. We already learned that means two celebrity honorees. Now we know it also means two Warrior Award winners.

Long-time McMahon family employee Rich Hering will receive the Award along with previously announced winner Titus O’Neil at the Ceremony, which taped last week and streams tonight (April 7) at 8 p.m. Eastern on Peacock.

Originally pitched by Ultimate Warrior during his 2014 Hall of Fame speech as “the Jimmy Miranda Award” to honor behind-the-scenes employees like Miranda, who used to drive from town to town to set up merchandise tables when Warrior was coming up, WWE has defined the Warrior Award as being “presented to an individual who has exhibited unwavering strength and perseverance and who lives life with the courage and compassion that embodies the indomitable spirit of The Ultimate Warrior.”

Having been with the company for more than 50 years, going from handling security and working with local athletic commissions to his current title of Senior Vice President of Government Relations and Risk Management, Hering seems to fit the bill either way.

From WWE’s official announcement:

“On behalf of everyone at WWE, we are proud to present Rich Hering with this incredible honor,” said Stephanie McMahon, WWE Chief Brand Officer. “Rich has dedicated more than half a century to WWE and the WWE Universe and has truly seen and done it all. From ensuring the health and safety of WWE Superstars and employees; presiding over the wedding of Macho Man and Miss Elizabeth; and being an ‘uncle’ to Dana Warrior and her children, Mattie and Indy, there is no one more deserving of this accolade.”

Hering is the second “behind-the-scenes” recipient of the Warrior Award, joining 2019 honoree Sue Aitchison.

Congrats, sir!

We’ll see Hering along with the rest of the 2020 & 2021 classes (Davey Boy Smith, JBL, Jushin “Thunder” Liger, The nWo, The Bella Twins, Molly Holly, Eric Bischoff, Rob Van Dam, Kane, The Great Khali, William Shatner, Ozzy Osbourne, and fellow Warrior Award winner Titus O’Neil) on Peacock tonight.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats