clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WWE NXT 2020 Year-End Award winners

For the sixth straight year, NXT is recognizing members of their roster for great performances turned in over the previous 365 days (more or less), and asking fans to predict a few things about the next 365.

Over the last couple weeks, viewers have been sending hashtag ballots and clicking on plls at to vote for their choices in eight different categories. Tonight (Dec. 30), the winners are announced.

Here are the categories and nominees. The winners will be highlighted in bold and italics as they’re revealed. You can also see who the Cageside staff picked here.

Breakout Star of the Year Award

Pat McAfee
Damian Priest
Shotzi Blackheart
Cameron Grimes
Dexter Lumis
Timothy Thatcher
Raquel Gonzalez
Santos Escobar
Ilja Dragunov

Rivalry of the Year Award

Adam Cole vs. Pat McAfee
Candice LeRae vs. Io Shirai
Damian Priest vs. Johnny Gargano
Dexter Lumis vs. Cameron Grimes
Shotzi Blackheart vs. Robert Stone
Rhea Ripley vs. Raquel Gonzalez
WALTER vs. Ilja Dragunov
Kay Lee Ray vs. Piper Niven

Tag Team of the Year Award

Undisputed ERA
Oney and Danny
Legado Del Fantasma

Male Competitor of the Year Award

Finn Bálor
Adam Cole
Johnny Gargano
Keith Lee
Tommaso Ciampa

Female Competitor of the Year Award

Rhea Ripley
Io Shirai
Candice LeRae
Dakota Kai
Kay Lee Ray
Tegan Nox

Overall Competitor of the Year Award

Adam Cole
Io Shirai

Event of the Year

TakeOver: Blackpool 2
TakeOver: Portland
TakeOver: In Your House
Great American Bash
TakeOver: XXX
TakeOver: 31
Halloween Havoc
TakeOver: WarGames

Future Star of NXT Award

Austin Theory
Jake Atlas
Leon Ruff
Kacy Catanzaro
Kayden Carter
Indi Hartwell
Xia Li
Aoife Valkyrie
Pretty Deadly

Match of the Year

Fatal 4-Way Iron Man Match – Finn Balor vs. Tommaso Ciampa vs. Adam Cole vs. Johnny Gargano – Super Tuesday
Adam Cole vs. Finn Balor > NXT Title Match – Super Tuesday II
Johnny Gargano vs. Tommaso Ciampa – One Final Beat
Finn Balor vs. Kyle O’Reilly > NXT Title Match – TakeOver 31
Keith Lee vs. Adam Cole > Great American Bash
Ladder Match for North American Championship – Takeover XXX
Io Shirai vs. Candice LeRae > TLS Women’s Championship Match – Halloween Havoc
Ilja Dragunov vs. WALTER > NXT UK Title Match – NXT UK TV
Men’s WarGames Match
Women’s WarGames Match
Rhea Ripley vs. Io Shirai vs. Charlotte – TakeOver: In Your House
Gallus vs. Imperium vs. GYV vs. Andrews/Webster – Ladder Match - TakeOver: Blackpool 2
Tyler Bate vs. Jordan Devlin - TakeOver: Blackpool 2
Bronson Reed vs. Roderick Strong vs. Johnny Gargano - NXT TV
Matt Riddle vs. Timothy Thatcher – Fight Pit

Congrats to the winners!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats