clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nominees announced and voting now open for the 2020 NXT Year-End Awards

New, 12 comments

The Slammys are in the books. Now it’s NXT’s turn. For the sixth annual Year-End Awards are here. Voting is now open, and the winners will be revealed next Weds., Dec. 30 on an episode that will double as the New Year’s Evil go home show.

As always, we get to vote. In a pleasant change (at least in my humble opinion), you no longer have to weigh in via cumbersome Twitter hashtag ballots for all categories. Voting can now be done via polls on WWE’s website. If you prefer the social media voting, that’s still an option. Check NXT’s timeline for the requite hashtags.

The other notable change is the inclusion of themed episodes along with WWE Network-exclusive PPVs in the renamed “Event of the Year” category.

And in case you only follow the version of the black-and-old brand that airs on USA Network and don’t know some of these names, that’s because for the second year in a row, NXT UK is included.

Anyway, here are the nominees. The Category headers double as links to vote.

Breakout Star of the Year Award

Pat McAfee
Damian Priest
Shotzi Blackheart
Cameron Grimes
Dexter Lumis
Timothy Thatcher
Raquel Gonzalez
Santos Escobar
Ilja Dragunov

Rivalry of the Year Award

Adam Cole vs. Pat McAfee
Candice LeRae vs. Io Shirai
Damian Priest vs. Johnny Gargano
Dexter Lumis vs. Cameron Grimes
Shotzi Blackheart vs. Robert Stone
Rhea Ripley vs. Raquel Gonzalez
WALTER vs. Ilja Dragunov
Kay Lee Ray vs. Piper Niven

Tag Team of the Year Award

Undisputed ERA
Oney and Danny
Legado Del Fantasma

Male Competitor of the Year Award

Finn Bálor
Adam Cole
Johnny Gargano
Keith Lee
Tommaso Ciampa

Female Competitor of the Year Award

Rhea Ripley
Io Shirai
Candice LeRae
Dakota Kai
Kay Lee Ray
Tegan Nox

Event of the Year

TakeOver: Blackpool 2
TakeOver: Portland
TakeOver: In Your House
Great American Bash
TakeOver: XXX
TakeOver: 31
Halloween Havoc
TakeOver: WarGames

Future Star of NXT Award

Austin Theory
Jake Atlas
Leon Ruff
Kacy Catanzaro
Kayden Carter
Indi Hartwell
Xia Li
Aoife Valkyrie
Pretty Deadly

Match of the Year

Fatal 4-Way Iron Man Match – Finn Balor vs. Tommaso Ciampa vs. Adam Cole vs. Johnny Gargano – Super Tuesday
Adam Cole vs. Finn Balor > NXT Title Match – Super Tuesday II
Johnny Gargano vs. Tommaso Ciampa – One Final Beat
Finn Balor vs. Kyle O’Reilly > NXT Title Match – TakeOver 31
Keith Lee vs. Adam Cole > Great American Bash
Ladder Match for North American Championship – Takeover XXX
Io Shirai vs. Candice LeRae > TLS Women’s Championship Match – Halloween Havoc
Ilja Dragunov vs. WALTER > NXT UK Title Match – NXT UK TV
Men’s WarGames Match
Women’s WarGames Match
Rhea Ripley vs. Io Shirai vs. Charlotte – TakeOver: In Your House
Gallus vs. Imperium vs. GYV vs. Andrews/Webster – Ladder Match - TakeOver: Blackpool 2
Tyler Bate vs. Jordan Devlin - TakeOver: Blackpool 2
Bronson Reed vs. Roderick Strong vs. Johnny Gargano - NXT TV
Matt Riddle vs. Timothy Thatcher – Fight Pit

Some of these choices are tough, as the stacked categories are just the latest proof how much talent Triple H has stockpiled in Orlando... and Enfield.

Feel free to share your choices - along with praise or outrage at the options NXT gave us - below!