clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WWE 2020 Slammy Awards results

For the first time since 2015, WWE is handing out Slammy Awards this year. They’ve decided that the occasion merits a Network special, hosted by the one-and-only R-Truth with celebrity presenters like Method Man & Snooki. For some reason, they also decided it should air in The Bump’s usual Wednesday morning time slot, but no matter - Cageside has you covered!

We got the party started early yesterday by telling you who our staff picked from the nominees in each of the ten categories announced ahead of time. You can read about that here. In this post, we’ll update the winners and tell you about any other fun stuff that happens during the stream as it airs starting at 10 a.m. Eastern on the free version of WWE Network and embedded above.


Shawn Michaels presented the award. Drew is proud he could be there for all of us in this crappy year.

  • The New Day wins Ring Gear of the Year

Snooki Zoomed in for this one. Ya boys knew they had this one. Kofi Kingston and Xavier Woods say as much, then throw it to Big E for a segment that looks like it was filmed last Friday since he’s wearing his Samis tux. E thanked Main Event Gear and Jonathan Davenport.

  • Edge wins Return of the Year

Mick Foley accepts on the Rated-R Superstar’s behalf, and Truth is worried Edge is coming for the 48/7 European TV title

Todd Pettengill runs down his Top 5 Slammy moments of all-time

  • Elias wins Musical Performance of the Year

Method Man Skyped this unannounced one out. Elias said no one was else was nominated because no one else is in his league. He wants to collabo with Meth.

  • Edge & Randy Orton win Rivalry of the Year

The Bachelorette’s Demi Burnett presented this one. Orton takes a break from his Mando binge to accept.

  • Sasha Banks wins Female Superstar of the Year

None other than Trish Stratus did the honors here.

  • Street Profits win Breakout Superstar of the Year

Online super-fan Derek Baker of Baker Banter presented this in a nice moment.

  • What Truth calls the “other” awards are handed out by Matt Camp & Ryan Pappola and Kayla Braxton...

Bayley wins Social Media Superstar of the Year
Lacey Evans wins Female Trash Talker of the Year
The Hurt Business win Male Trash Talkers of the Year

The Last Ride wins WWE Network Documentary of the Year
Rob Gronkowski wins Celebrity Appearance of the Year

Bayley wins Double Cross of the Year
Charles Robinson wins Referee of the Year (John Cone is PISSED, and sneaks in in a blonde wig to try to steal the trophy)

  • The Undertaker’s Final Farewell wins Moment of the Year

Ken Jeong hyped his FOX shows and inpersonated Vince McMahon while revealing the winner. The Dead Man thanks the WWE Universe.

  • Street Profits win Tag Team of the Year

Hot Tub Time Machine and Nasty Boys super-fan Clark Duke presented this award

  • The Boneyard Match wins Match of the Year

Rico Rodriguez (Modern Family) and his sister Raini (Paul Blart: Mall Cop 1 & 2) revealed the winner. AJ Styles accepts... 14 of it. He offers the rest to Taker, who is back to thank AJ and everyone who worked on it.

  • Drew McIntyre wins Superstar of the Year

None other than Ric Flair himself presented our final award. McIntyre is stunned, and mentions that this is a legit award. He talks about being named the Chosen One in the past, but now he feels like the Chosen One of the fans, and that means so much more.

That’s the Slammys y’all. Thoughts?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats