clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John Cena has lost 6 consecutive matches at SummerSlam

Last night (Sun., Aug. 21, 2016) at SummerSlam, John Cena came up short in a great match with the Phenomenal AJ Styles.

This is the 6th straight SummerSlam loss for Cena.  Here is a listing of his career record at the biggest party of the summer, with his wins in bold:

  • 2004: Cena defeated Booker T
  • 2005: Cena defeated Chris Jericho
  • 2006: Edge defeated Cena
  • 2007: Cena defeated Randy Orton
  • 2008: Batista defeated Cena
  • 2009: Randy Orton defeated Cena
  • 2010: Team Cena defeated Team Nexus
  • 2011: CM Punk defeated Cena
  • 2012: CM Punk defeated Cena and Big Show
  • 2013: Daniel Bryan defeated Cena
  • 2014: Brock Lesnar squashed Cena
  • 2015: Seth Rollins defeated Cena
  • 2016: AJ Styles defeated Cena

Cena started off his SummerSlam career by winning 3 of his first 4 matches (2004 through 2007).

But since the start of 2008, Cena's record at SummerSlam is a jaw-dropping 1-8, including 6 consecutive defeats.

His last victory at SummerSlam came in 2010 against Team Nexus, which was one of those infamous CenaWinsLOL moments that frustrated millions of wrestling fans around the globe.

Add it all up and Cena's career record at SummerSlam is 4-9.

What do you think about this stunning fact, Cagesiders?  And who do you think John Cena will lost to next year at SummerSlam 2017?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats