clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AJ Styles wins the Bound for Glory Series

AJ Styles defeated Magnus to win the Bound for Glory Series at tonight's (Sept. 12, 2013) "No Surrender" event on Spike TV. That means it's Styles vs. Bully Ray in the main event of "Bound for Glory" next month in San Diego.

When AJ Styles lost to James Storm and Bobby Roode in a triple threat match at the Turning Point pay-per-view (PPV) on Nov. 11, 2012, it was stipulated that he wouldn't be permitted to challenge for the TNA heavyweight championship again until Bound for Glory on Oct. 20, 2013.

That set up rather nicely for him to win the Bound for Glory Series, which he entered this year and spent much of his time within under his "lone wolf" gimmick where he was acting an awful lot like Sting from 1997 but doing a really bad job of it.

Sure enough, that's exactly what happened.

Styles won the BFG Series tonight (Sept. 12) by defeating Magnus in the Final. He had previously went over on Austin Aries earlier in the evening in what was an incredibly entertaining match. Magnus defeated Bobby Roode to earn his way into the Final.

This makes Styles vs. Bully Ray for the TNA heavyweight championship the main event of Bound for Glory next month. And while the larger part of the last year was spent running storylines that were meant to build up both guys, I'm not entirely sure this one is going to do all that well at the box office.

Your thoughts, Cagesiders?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats