clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Lethal stunned Kurt Angle in Impact’s most shocking X-Division Championship wins

Coming off a shocking X-Division title change on night 1 of Emergence, Impact decided to commemorate the moment with a top 5 countdown list of the most shocking X-Division Championship wins.

5. Frankie Kazarian & Michael Shane become co-champs - NWA-TNA PPV #105 (July 28, 2004)
4. Rockstar Spud cashes in - Impact Wrestling (Mar. 20, 2015)
3. Rohit Raju shocks the world - Impact Wrestling: Emergence (Aug. 18, 2020)
2. Amazing Red’s incredible upset - TNA Impact! (Oct. 8, 2009)
1. Jay Lethal stuns Kurt Angle - TNA No Surrender (Sep. 8, 2007)

The wins from Rockstar Spud and Amazing Red were soft considering they were handed victories. The other three seem deserving on the surface. The finish for Kaz and Shane was creative. Too bad they only held the belt for 14 days before Petey Williams won in a Gauntlet for the Gold. Rohit Raju’s turn on Chris Bey was obvious, but his victory was not. He’s been jobbed out for so long that I assumed failure on his part. Angle held the belt for 28 days before being upset by Lethal. The real importance was that Angle held all the gold (Heavyweight, X-Division, Tag Team) going into the evening at No Surrender in 2007. Angle lost the tag titles with Sting in the opener to Pacman Jones & R-Truth. Then Lethal shocked Angle. Angle drank some milk to regroup and keep the Heavyweight belt against Abyss.

Do you agree with Impact’s list for most shocking X-Division Championship wins?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats