clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AEW x NJPW Forbidden Door results: What was ‘Match of the Night’ in Chicago?

AEW’s Twitter

AEW and New Japan have officially put a bow tie around their Forbidden Door pay-per-view (PPV) from United Center in Chicago. The promotion wrapped up the show on Sun., June 26, 2022 (or early Monday morning on the East Coast) with a bloody Jon Moxley winning the interim AEW World title by beating Hiroshi Tanahashi, then helping to fend off Jericho Appreciation Society with the help of Blackpool Combat Club’s newest member, Claudio Castagnoli.

Was it the best match on the card?

The night also saw Jay White, Will Ospreay & Thunder Rosa retain their titles, while PAC won the new All-Atlantic belt, and FTR added IWGP gold to their growing collection of tag belts. Chris Jericho teamed with Minoru Suzuki & Sammy Guevara to win the Blood & Guts advantage for his team this Wednesday, while Sting & Darby Allin teamed with Shingo Takagi to hand Bullet Club a loss. The former Cesaro debuted with a win over Zack Sabre Jr., and a quarter of pre-show matches kicked things off.

For complete results from the show click here, but before or after you do that, vote in our poll below to tell us what your “Match of the Night” was. Be sure to discuss your choice in the comments section as well!


What was ‘Match of the Night’ at AEW x NJPW Forbidden Door?

This poll is closed

  • 8%
    Jon Moxley vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi
    (176 votes)
  • 4%
    Jay White vs. Hangman Page vs. Kazuchika Okada vs. Adam Cole
    (86 votes)
  • 17%
    Claudio Castagnoli vs. Zack Sabre Jr.
    (366 votes)
  • 51%
    Will Ospreay vs. Orange Cassidy
    (1062 votes)
  • 0%
    Thunder Rosa vs. Toni Storm
    (18 votes)
  • 2%
    Sting, Darby Allin & Shingo Takagi vs. The Young Bucks & El Phantasmo
    (48 votes)
  • 6%
    PAC vs. Miro vs. Malakai Black vs. Clark Connors
    (130 votes)
  • 3%
    FTR vs. Roppongi Vice vs. United Empire
    (78 votes)
  • 3%
    Chris Jericho, Sammy Guevara, & Minoru Suzuki vs. Eddie Kingston, Wheeler Yuta, & Shota Umino
    (62 votes)
  • 0%
    Gunn Club & Max Caster vs. Yuya Uemura, Alex Coughlin, The DKC, & Kevin Knight
    (5 votes)
  • 0%
    Swerve Strickland & Keith Lee vs. El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru
    (6 votes)
  • 0%
    Lance Archer vs. Nick Comoroto
    (13 votes)
  • 0%
    Hirooki Goto & Yoshi-Hashi vs. QT Marshall & Aaron Solo
    (10 votes)
2060 votes total Vote Now

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats