clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan reveals new title Moxley, Ospreay & Finlay will fight for at Wrestle Kingdom

That, and updated look at the card for Jan. 4 in the Tokyo Dome!

The set-up for Jon Moxley, Will Ospreay & David Finlay’s triple threat match at Wrestle Kingdom 18 involved current Bullet Club leader Finlay smashing Ospreay’s IWGP United States & United Kingdom title belts with a hammer. New Japan Pro-Wrestling quickly confirmed they’d be introducing a new championship for the three men to fight over in the Tokyo Dome on Jan. 4, 2024... and now they have.

In a statement, NJPW Chairman Naoki Sugabayashi said the company considered bringing back the IWGP Intercontinental title (merged with the old Heavyweight belt to form the promotion’s current top prize, the World Heavyweight championship, back in 2021). But keeping New Japan’s current strategic goals in mind, they decided to introduce a new title that represents those: the IWGP Global championship.

That’s not the only news about Wrestle Kingdom coming out of the weekend. New Japan’s World Tag League wrapped up on Sunday (Nov. 10) with Bishamon making history, as Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI became the first team to win the tournament three years in a row. To do so they beat Hikuleo & El Phantasmo, avenging a loss to the Guerrillas of Destiny duo during the round robin portion of the tourney. Now, the two teams with face off again in the Tokyo Dome — and Bishamon’s IWGP Heavyweight Tag and GoD’s Strong Openweight Tag titles will be on the line.

Here’s an updated look at the Wrestle Kingdom 18 card:

• SANADA (c) vs. Tetsuya Naito for the IWGP World Heavyweight championship

• Kazuchika Okada vs. Bryan Danielson

• Will Ospreay vs. Jon Moxley vs. David Finlay to determine the first IWGP Global Heavyweight champion

• Hiromu Takahashi (c) vs. El Desperado for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight title

• Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI vs. Tag Team Champions Hikuleo & El Phantasmo for the IWGP Heavyweight & NJPW Strong Openweight Tag Team championships

• Clark Connors & Drilla Moloney (c) TJP & Francesco Akira for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag titles

• Zack Sabre Jr. (c) vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi for the NJPW World Television championship

• Shingo Takagi (c) vs. Tama Tonga for the NEVER Openweight title

The show is Thurs., Jan. 4 at 2:30am ET and will stream on the NJPWWorld subscription service. Sound worth staying up all night for?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats