clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 31 results for Monday, Oct. 18: KENTA vs. Ibushi, Sabre vs. Loa, and more

Match lineup for night seventeen of NJPW G1 Climax 31 NJPW Global on Twitter

It’s, well... a few months after that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 31st annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on October 21. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

Current Standings

A Block

12 Points

  • KENTA (6-2)
  • Kota Ibushi (6-2)
  • Shingo Takagi (6-2)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (6-2)

10 Points

  • Tomohiro Ishii (5-3)

8 Points

  • Great-O-Khan (4-5)
  • Toru Yano (4-4)

4 Points

  • Tanga Loa (2-6)
  • Yujiro Takahashi (2-6)

0 Points

  • Tetsuya Naito (0-9 after being injured out and forfeiting his remaining matches)

B Block

16 Points

  • Jeff Cobb (8-0)

14 Points

  • Kazuchika Okada (7-1)

12 Points

  • EVIL (6-2)

8 Points

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (4-4)
  • SANADA (4-4)

6 Points

  • Tama Tonga (3-5)

4 Points

  • Chase Owens (2-6)
  • Hirooki Goto (2-6)
  • Taichi (2-6)
  • YOSHI-HASHI (2-6)

Today’s action takes place in Kanagawa’s Yokohama Budokan, kicking off at 5:30 am ET / 2:30 am PT, and it's the final night of A Block action as we head into the finals on Thursday!

Toru Yano over Tomohiro Ishii by pinfall with a backslide.

Shingo Takagi vs. Yujiro Takahashi went to a double count-out draw.

Tanga Loa over Zack Sabre, Jr. by pinfall with a pinning predicament.

Kota Ibushi over KENTA by pinfall with Kamigoye.

As such, with 14 points, Kota Ibushi is your A Block winner and moves on to the finals on Thursday.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats