clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan Pro Wrestling Summer Struggle in Jingu results: KOPW 2020 decider, EVIL vs. Naito, and more!

Match graphic for EVIL vs. Naito at Summer Struggle in Jingu NJPW Global on Twitter

New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW) are back again with another reduced capacity show for your enjoyment! This week we’ve got a two-fer we’ll be covering for you, with Wednesday’s show in Korakuen Hall and today’s big Summer Struggle in Jingu, and like all of New Japan’s other major events, the show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

Today’s action takes place in Tokyo’s Meiji Jingu Stadium, kicking off at a ripe 4AM Eastern / 1AM Pacific, and a card headlined by EVIL defending the IWGP Heavyweight and IWGP Intercontinental Championships against the man he won them from, Tetsuya Naito.

Plus, the four-way finals to determine our tentative KOPW 2020 Champion, as well as Shingo Takagi defending the NEVER Openweight Championship against Minoru Suzuki, and more!

Yoshinobu Kanemaru over Master Wato by pinfall with a sunset flip.

Toru Yano over El Desperado, Kazuchika Okada, and SANADA by pinfall with a schoolboy pin on Okada to win the provisional KOPW 2020 Championship. (KOPW 2020 Tournament Finals)

Minoru Suzuki over Shingo Takagi (c) by pinfall with the Gotch Piledriver to win the NEVER Openweight Championship.

Taiji Ishimori over Hiromu Takahashi (c) by submission with the LeBell Lock to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.

Suzuki-gun (Taichi & Zack Sabre, Jr.) (c) over Hiroshi Tanahashi & Kota Ibushi by pinfall with Zack Mephisto from Sabre on Tanahashi to retain the IWGP Tag Team Championship.

Tetsuya Naito over EVIL (c) by pinfall with Destino to win the IWGP Heavyweight and IWGP Intercontinental Championships.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats