clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan World Tag League 2020 / Best of the Super Jr. 27 results for Friday, Dec. 11: Hiromu vs. Desperado, GoD vs. FinJuice, and more

Non-spoiler showtime graphic for World Tag League 2020 / Best of the Super Jr. 27 finals NJPW Global on Twitter

The schedules are all out of whack, but New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW) isn’t letting 2020 go by without hosting all of their usual round robin tournaments, which means it’s time for Best of the Super Jr. 27 and World Tag League 2020!

These tournaments will take place across 17 dates, with the finals on Dec. 11. All of this year’s shows will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World, with commentary in both English and Japanese.

World Tag League standings

12 Points

  • FinJuice (David Finlay & Juice Robinson) (6-3, WINNERS)
  • Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) (6-3, WINNERS)
  • Suzuki-gun (Taichi & Zack Sabre, Jr.) (6-3)

10 Points

  • Chaos (Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI) (5-4)
  • Chaos (Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano) (5-4)
  • Great-O-Khan & Jeff Cobb (5-4)
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (SANADA & Shingo Takagi) (5-4)

6 Points

  • Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale & Chase Owens) (3-6)
  • Bullet Club (EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi) (3-6)

2 Points

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi & Toa Henare (1-8)

Best of the Super Jr. 27 standings

14 Points

  • El Desperado (7-2, WINNER)
  • Hiromu Takahashi (7-2, WINNER)
  • Taiji Ishimori (7-2)

12 Points

  • SHO (6-3)

8 Points

  • BUSHI (4-5)
  • Master Wato (4-5)
  • Robbie Eagles (4-5)
  • Ryusuke Taguchi (4-5)

4 Points

  • DOUKI (2-7)

0 Points

  • Yuya Uemura (0-9)

Tonight’s action takes place in Tokyo’s legendary Nippon Budokan and kicks off at a ripe 4AM Eastern / 1AM Pacific. It’s the final night, and the winners of both tournaments will go on to wrestle their respective champions at Wrestle Kingdom in January!

Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Chase Owens, & Taiji Ishimori) def. Chaos (Robbie Eagles, SHO, & Toru Yano) by pinfall with Grenade Launcher from Owens on Eagles

The Empire (Great-O-Khan, Jeff Cobb, & Will Ospreay) def. Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kazuchika Okada, & Toa Henare via pinfall with Tour of Islands from Cobb to Henare

O-Khan continued to attack to attack Tanahashi’s knee afterwards and The Empire fought off an Okada save to stand tall.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (SANADA & Shingo Takagi) def. Bullet Club (EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi) via pinfall with Last of the Dragon from Shingo on Yujiro

Afterwards, SANADA and EVIL brawled to the back and Jeff Cobb showed up to make it clear he’s coming for Shingo’s NEVER belt.

A 49th Anniversary show was announced for Mar. 4 at Budokan.

Kota Ibushi & Master Wato def. Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Tetsuya Naito) via pinfall with a Kamigoye from Ibushi on BUSHI

Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) def. FinJuice (David Finlay & Juice Robinson) via pinfall with a super powerbomb from Tama to Juice after KENTA ran in and choked Robinson with his U.S. title briefcase; G.O.D. win the 2020 World Tag League 2020

Hiromu Takahashi def. an unmasked El Desperado via pinfall with Time Bomb II to win Best of the Super Jr. 27

During his show closing promo, Hiromu told Desperado they’ll face each other until they retire and said he would challenge the winner of Super-J Cup before facing Taiji Ishimori for the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight title.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats