clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 30 results for Sunday, Oct. 18: SANADA vs. EVIL, Naito vs. KENTA, and more

Non-spoiler graphic for NJPW G1 Climax Finals NJPW Global on Twitter

It’s, well... a few months after that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 30th annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on October 18. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

Final Standings

A Block

14 Points

  • Kota Ibushi (7-2) (A BLOCK WINNER!)

12 Points

  • “Switchblade” Jay White (6-3)
  • Kazuchika Okada (6-3)
  • Will Ospreay (6-3)

8 Points

  • Jeff Cobb (4-5)
  • Shingo Takagi (4-5)
  • Taichi (4-5)
  • Tomohiro Ishii (4-5)

6 Points

  • Minoru Suzuki (3-6)

2 Points

  • Yujiro Takahashi (1-8)

B Block

12 Points

  • EVIL (6-3)
  • Tetsuya Naito (6-3)

10 Points

  • KENTA (5-4)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (5-4)

8 Points

  • Hirooki Goto (4-5)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (4-5)
  • Juice Robinson (4-5)

6 Points

  • Toru Yano (3-6)

4 Points

  • YOSHI-HASHI (2-7)

Today’s action takes place in Tokyo’s Ryogoku Sumo Hall, kicking off at 2AM Eastern / 11PM Pacific, and this is the final night of action— SANADA and Kota Ibushi do battle to find out who will claim the G1 Climax winner’s briefcase and move on to face Tetsuya Naito for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom!

Suzuki-gun (DOUKI, El Desperado, Taichi, & Zack Sabre, Jr.) over Chaos (Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii, Toru Yano, & YOSHI-HASHI) by pinfall with Zack Mephisto on Tacos.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (Hiromu Takahashi & Shingo Takagi) over Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) by pinfall with Time Bomb from HIromu on Kanemaru.

Hiroshi Tanahashi, Jeff Cobb, Juice Robinson, & Master Wato) over Bullet Club (Gedo, “Switchblade” Jay White, KENTA, Taiji Ishimori) by submission with the cloverleaf from Tanahashi on Gedo.

Wrestle Kingdom 15 is confirmed as a two-night event happening on January 4 and 5 2021.

Great-O-Kharn & Will Ospreay over Chaos (Kazuchika Okada & SHO) by submission with a figure four leglock from Ospreay on SHO.

Bullet Club (EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi) over Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Tetsuya Naito) by submission with a Sharpshooter from EVIL on Naito.

Kota Ibushi over SANADA by pinfall with Kamigoye to win G1 Climax 30 and challenge Tetsuya Naito for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 15. (G1 Climax 30 Finals)

Post-match, Ibushi carried on the theme of his post-show interviews and said he intends to become god. Good luck, sir.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats