clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 29 results for Monday, Aug. 12: Ibushi vs. White and more!

G1 Climax 29 finals date/time graphic NJPW Global on Twitter

It’s that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 29th annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on August 12. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World, except for opening night, which was live exclusively on AXS here in the States and uploaded to NJPW World at a later date.

We'll have open threads & results for each show as well as the standard match recommendation posts at regular intervals throughout the tournament, so why not watch along with the best pro wrestling community on the internet?

Current Standings

A Block

14 Points

  • Kazuchika Okada (7-2)
  • Kota Ibushi (7-2, A BLOCK WINNER)

8 Points

  • Bad Luck Fale (4-5)
  • EVIL (4-5)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (4-5)
  • KENTA (4-5)
  • SANADA (4-5)
  • Will Ospreay (4-5)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (4-5)

6 Points

  • Lance Archer (3-6)

B Block

12 Points

  • “Switchblade” Jay White (6-3, B BLOCK WINNER)

10 Points

  • Hirooki Goto (5-4)
  • Jon Moxley (5-4)
  • Tetsuya Naito (5-4)

8 Points

  • Jeff Cobb (4-5)
  • Juice Robinson (4-5)
  • Shingo Takagi (4-5)
  • Taichi (4-5)
  • Tomohiro Ishii (4-5)
  • Toru Yano (4-5)

Today’s action takes place in Tokyo’s legendary Nippon Budokan, kicking off at a brisk 5AM Eastern / 2AM Pacific, and the Switchblade will meet the Golden Star in the finals, the winner of which will go on to challenge Kazuchika Okada at Wrestle Kingdom in January!

Clark Connors & Karl Fredericks over Ren Narita & Yota Tsuji by submission with a Boston Crab from Connors on Tsuji.

Jeff Cobb, Jushin Liger, & Tiger Mask IV over Suzuki-gun (Lance Archer, Taichi, & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) by pinfall with Tour of the Islands from Cobb on Kanemaru

Chaos (SHO, Will Ospreay, & YOH) over Bullet Club (Chase Owens, Taiji Ishimori, & Yujiro Takahashi) by pinfall with Storm Breaker from Ospreay on Yujiro.

Juice Robinson & Toa Henare over Jon Moxley & Shota Umino by pinfall with the Toa Bottom from Henare on Umino. Post-match, Mox put Juice through a table.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, EVIL, SANADA, Shingo Takagi, & Tetsuya Naito) over Chaos (Hirooki Goto & Toru Yano), Great Bash Heel (Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma), & Ryusuke Taguchi by pinfall with a moonsault from SANADA on Honma.

Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga, & Tanga Loa) over Chaos (Tomohiro Ishii & YOSHI-HASHI) & KENTA by pinfall after KENTA turned on his partners hit a Busaiku Knee on Ishii and Tonga covered him.

Post-match, Katsuyori Shibata and the Young Lions make the save and Shibata brawls with KENTA! Eventually That Damned Numbers Game overwhelms the Wrestler, and KENTA throws up the Too Sweet to signal that he’s joined Bullet Club.

Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki & Zack Sabre, Jr.) over Hiroshi Tanahashi & Kazuchika Okada by pinfall with a Gotch piledriver from Suzuki on Okada.

Post-match, Suzuki told Okada that he should just hand the IWGP Heavyweight Championship over to him.

Kota Ibushi over “Switchblade” Jay White by pinfall with Kamigoye to win G1 Climax 29 (Tournament Finals)

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats