clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AEW plans to crown their first women’s champion on TNT debut show


Business has picked up for AEW’s women’s roster.

A new report states the upstart wrestling promotion will crown their first women’s champion during AEW’s debut episode on TNT.

Sports Illustrated was the first to break the news and score a quote from AEW Chief Brand Officer Brandi Rhodes.

“For many female wrestlers, the opportunity to fight for the title represents the crowning achievement of their careers. The AEW women’s championship will be the cornerstone of the women’s division.”

Rhodes added:

“The championship will be treated with the utmost respect and prestige. We hope to inspire future female wrestlers to dream of holding such a meaningful title.”

AEW makes their television debut on Wed., Oct. 2 on TNT.

Below is AEW’s current women’s roster

  • Brandi Rhodes
  • Britt Baker
  • Penelope Ford
  • Aja Kong
  • Yuka Sakazaki
  • Kylie Rae
  • Nyla Rose
  • Allie
  • Bea Priestley
  • Sadie Gibbs
  • Hikaru Shida
  • Awesome Kong

Details remain slim, but Sports Illustrated would go on to report that more news about AEW’s plans will be released next Wednesday (Aug. 7) on the latest episode of The Road to AEW All Out.

Looking over the 12 women on the roster, who is your pick for AEW’s first women’s champion?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats