clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NJPW New Beginning in Sapporo results for Sunday, February 3: Suzuki & Sabre vs. EVIL & SANADA, Naito vs. Taichi, and more

New, comments
NJPW Global on Twitter

With Wrestle Kingdom 13 firmly in our rear view mirror, we’re moving on to New Japan Pro Wrestling’s annual February spectacular!

This year, New Beginning is split up into three shows, same as last year. All three shows, naturally, will air live and in full on NJPW World, so why not watch along with the best pro wrestling community on the internet?

Today’s action takes place in Sapporo's Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center, kicking off at a brisk 1AM Eastern / 10PM Pacific, and is headlined by a trifecta of matches in which Los Ingobernables de Japon defend their titles against the evil forces of Suzuki-gun.

Toa Henare over Yota Tsuji over by pinfall with a Rock Bottom.

Manabu Nakanishi & Tiger Mask IV over Ayato Yoshida & Shota Umino by pinfall with a butterfly superplex from Tiger Dad on Yoshida.

Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Ren Narita over Suzuki-gun (TAKA Michinoku & Takashi Iizuka) by disqualification after Iizuka attacked Tenzan with the iron fingers.

Post-match, Iizuka chokes Tenzan out with a microphone cable!

Great Bash Heel (Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma), Ryusuke Taguchi, & Toru Yano over Bullet Club (Taiji Ishimori, Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, & Yujiro Takahashi) by pinfall with a folding press from Yano on Loa.

Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Chase Owens, & “Switchblade” Jay White) over Chaos (Kazuchika Okada & YOSHI-HASHI) & Hiroshi Tanahashi by submission with TTO (the inverted figure four leglock) from White on Tacos.

Post-match, Switchblade attacks Tanahashi again and hits Blade Runner!

Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Shingo Takagi) (c) over Suzuki-gun (El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) by pinfall with Rebellion on Kanemaru to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship.

Post-match, BUSHI attacks Despy and tears his mask off!

Los Ingobernables de Japon (EVIL & SANADA) (c) over Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki & Zack Sabre, Jr.) by pinfall with a diving moonsault from SANADA on Suzuki to retain the IWGP Tag Team Championship.

Before the main event, Iizuka attacks Naito with a ladder and leaves him lying to the point where Taichi declares his victory and medics and referees walk Tetsuya out of the ringside area, but he refuses to go down like that and we’ve got our match!

Tetsuya Naito (c) over Taichi by pinfall with Destino to retain the IWGP Intercontinental Championship.

Enjoy the show!