clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan Wrestle Kingdom 13 results, full match coverage tonight (January 4, 2019) from the Tokyo Dome

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

NJPW World

Here's a place to check results and comment along with New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s Wrestle Kingdom 13 - happening Friday, January 4, 2018 from the Tokyo Dome. The show will air live during the early morning hours for United States audiences, with a replay available an hour after the main show wraps.

NJPW has their own, WWE Network like streaming service, NJPW World which can be subscribed to worldwide and that will broadcast the show. You can access NJW at this link. At current exchange rate, the service is slightly less than $9 per month.

New Japan has Kevin Kelly, Don Callis, and Chris Charlton to provide English commentary on the World service. For those of you without the ability to subscribe to NJPW World, the show will also be available on FITE TV live as an internet pay-per-view, and will air on a same-day delay on Friday night at 8PM Eastern over the cable airwaves via AXS TV.

That leaves the time difference from Tokyo as the major challenge. With a bell time of 5PM in Japan, the broadcast will start with the pre-show at 2AM Eastern / 11PM Pacific time in the U.S.

It should be worth a sluggish Friday at the office, however. Wrestle Kingdom is the biggest event on New Japan's calendar - whatever the January show from the Tokyo Dome is called, it's NJPW's version of WrestleMania - and they've put together an exciting card worthy of that status.

For a full breakdown, check out our preview right here, but otherwise use this space to discuss the show before, during (whenever you watch) and after with the best pro wrestling community on the internet, and we'll update the results as we have them.


  • Chaos (Beretta, Chuckie T, & Hirooki Goto) vs. David Finlay, Jeff Cobb, & Yuji Nagata vs. Most Violent Players (Togi Makabe & Toru Yano) & Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Suzuki-gun (Davey Boy Smith, Jr., Lance Archer, & Minoru Suzuki) vs. the Elite (Hangman Page, Marty Scurll, & Yujiro Takahashi) (NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship #1 Contender’s Gauntlet Match)
  • David Finlay, Jeff Cobb, & Yuji Nagata eliminate the Elite by pinfall with a schoolboy pin from Finlay on Yujiro.
  • David Finlay, Jeff Cobb, & Yuji Nagata eliminate Chaos by pinfall with a schoolboy pin from Finlay on Taylor after Chuck missed a moonsault.
  • Suzuki-gun (Davey Boy Smith, Jr., Lance Archer, & Minoru Suzuki) eliminate Finlay, Cobb, & Nagata by pinfall with the Killer Bomb from Killer Elite Squad on Finlay.
  • Most Violent Players (Togi Makabe & Toru Yano) & Ryusuke Taguchi win, last eliminating Suzuki-gun by pinfall with a low blow and a schoolboy pin from Yano on Smith to become #1 contenders to the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship.
  • Will Ospreay over Kota Ibushi (c) by pinfall with Storm Breaker to win the NEVER Openweight Championship.
  • Medics stretcher Ibushi out after the match, hopefully just a precautionary measure.
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Shingo Takagi) over Roppongi 3K (SHO & YOH) and Suzuki-gun (El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) (c) by pinfall with Last of the Dragon from Takagi on SHO to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship.
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. over Tomohiro Ishii (c) by submission with Hurrah! Another Year, Surely This One Will Be Better Than the Last; The Inexorable March of Progress Will Lead Us All To Happiness to win the RPW British Heavyweight Championship.
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (EVIL & SANADA) over Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) (c) and Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson) by pinfall with Magic Killer and a moonsault from SANADA on Matt to win the IWGP Tag Team Championship.
  • Juice Robinson over Cody Rhodes (c) by pinfall with two Pulp Frictions to win the IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship.
  • Taiji Ishimori over KUSHIDA (c) by pinfall with Bloody Cross to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.
  • “Switchblade” Jay White over Kazuchika Okada by pinfall with Blade Runner, clean as a sheet.
  • Tetsuya Naito over Chris Jericho (c) by pinfall with a title belt shot to the face and Destino to win the IWGP Intercontinental Championship. (No Disqualification Match)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi over Kenny Omega (c) by pinfall with High Fly Flow to win the IWGP Heavyweight Championship for a record eighth time.
  • Post-match, Tanahashi cuts a promo saying he wasn’t sure he could climb the mountain again, but with the support of Katsuyori Shibata and all the rest of his friends and fans, he got there. He initially claims he’s too worn out for air guitar, but he gives his fans one quick riff all the same.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats