clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 28 results for Saturday, Aug. 4: Naito vs. Ibushi, Ishii vs. Omega, and more

New Japan Pro Wrestling on Twitter

It’s that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 28th annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on August 12. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

We'll have open threads & results for each show (past results can be found here) as well as the standard match recommendation posts at regular intervals throughout the tournament, so why not watch along with the best pro wrestling community on the internet?

Current standings

12 Points

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (A Block, 6-1)
  • Kenny Omega (B Block, 6-0)

10 Points

  • “Switchblade” Jay White (A Block, 5-2)
  • Kazuchika Okada (A Block, 5-2)
  • Tetsuya Naito (B Block, 5-1)

8 Points

  • EVIL (A Block, 4-3)
  • Minoru Suzuki (A Block, 4-3)
  • Kota Ibushi (B Block, 4-2)

6 Points

  • Michael Elgin (A Block, 3-4)
  • SANADA (B Block, 3-3)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (B Block, 3-3)

4 Points

  • Bad Luck Fale (A Block, 2-5)
  • Hangman Page (A Block, 2-5)
  • Togi Makabe (A Block, 2-5)
  • Hirooki Goto (B Block, 2-4)
  • Juice Robinson (B Block, 2-4)
  • Tama Tonga (B Block, 2-4)
  • Tomohiro Ishii (B Block, 2-4)

2 Points

  • YOSHI-HASHI (A Block, 1-6)
  • Toru Yano (B Block, 1-5)

Our fourteenth day of action takes place in Osaka’s Edion Arena Osaka, kicking off at a ripe 4AM Eastern / 1AM Pacific, and it's all about B Block, one of two groupings whose winner will go on to a spot in the finals.

SANADA over Toru Yano by countout after tying Yano into the barricade with the Paradise Lock and taping the barricade to the ringpost.

Hirooki Goto over Tama Tonga by disqualification after Bad Luck Fale runs in and hits Grenade.

Zack Sabre, Jr. over Juice Robinson by submission with a figure four stump puller / leg-trap Ode to Jim Breaks combination.

Tomohiro Ishii over Kenny Omega by pinfall with the vertical drop brainbuster.

Kota Ibushi over Tetsuya Naito by pinfall with Kamigoye.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats