clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Women’s champions don’t fare well at SummerSlam

Above is a video WWE released detailing a bunch of things you may not have known about SummerSlam. Included is an interesting statistic on reigning women’s champions, that they’re only 1-6 at the show.

I have no idea how they arrived at this conclusion.

Here are the women’s title matches that have taken place at SummerSlam throughout the years:

  1. Natalya def. Naomi to win the SmackDown women’s championship (2017)
  2. Sasha Banks def. Alexa Bliss to win the Raw women’s championship (2017)
  3. Charlotte def. Sasha Banks to win the women’s championship (2016)
  4. Paige def. AJ Lee to win the Divas championship (2014)
  5. Kelly Kelly def. Beth Phoenix to retain the Divas championship (2011)
  6. Melina def. Alicia Fox to win the Divas championship (2010)
  7. Glamarella def. Kofi Kingston & Mickie James to win the women’s championship for Beth Phoenix (2008)
  8. Ivory def. Tori to retain the women’s championship (1999)
  9. Bertha Faye def. Alundra Blayze to win the women’s championship (1995)
  10. Alundra Blayze def. Bull Nakano to retain the women’s championship (1994)

The tag match was an intergender winner take all match for both the Intercontinental and women’s titles. Even if you take it out, I’m unsure how WWE came up with the 1-6 figure. The actual number is 3-7.

Either way, it’s clear that it’s much better to be challenging for the women’s title than it is to be defending it. The two women’s title matches at this year’s show — Alexa Bliss vs. Ronda Rousey (Raw women’s championship) and Carmella vs. Becky Lynch vs. Charlotte Flair (SmackDown women’s championship) — look like they’ll keep the streak going.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats