clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 28 results for Thursday, Aug. 2: Okada vs. Suzuki, Tanahashi vs. EVIL, and more

NJPW Global on Twitter

It’s that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 28th annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on August 12. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

We'll have open threads & results for each show (past results can be found here) as well as the standard match recommendation posts at regular intervals throughout the tournament, so why not watch along with the best pro wrestling community on the internet?

Current standings

12 Points

  • Kenny Omega (B Block, 6-0)

10 Points

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (A Block, 5-1)
  • Tetsuya Naito (B Block, 5-1)

8 Points

  • EVIL (A Block, 4-2)
  • “Switchblade” Jay White (A Block, 4-2)
  • Kazuchika Okada (A Block, 4-2)
  • Minoru Suzuki (A Block, 4-2)
  • Kota Ibushi (B Block, 4-2)

6 Points

  • SANADA (B Block, 3-3)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (B Block, 3-3)

4 Points

  • Bad Luck Fale (A Block, 2-4)
  • Michael Elgin (A Block, 2-4)
  • Togi Makabe (A Block, 2-4)
  • Hirooki Goto (B Block, 2-4)
  • Juice Robinson (B Block, 2-4)
  • Tama Tonga (B Block, 2-4)
  • Tomohiro Ishii (B Block, 2-4)

2 Points

  • Hangman Page (A Block, 1-5)
  • YOSHI-HASHI (A Block, 1-5)
  • Toru Yano (B Block, 1-5)

Our thirteenth day of action takes place in Fukuoka’s Fukuoka Citizen Gymnasium, kicking off at a brisk 5:30AM Eastern / 2:30AM Pacific, and it's all about A Block, one of two groupings whose winner will go on to a spot in the finals.

Chaos (Gedo & Toru Yano) over Ren Narita & Toa Henare

Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) over Chaos (Hirooki Goto & YOH)

David Finlay & Juice Robinson over Suzuki-gun (TAKA Michinoku & Zack Sabre, Jr.) by pinfall with a Stunner from Finlay on Michinoku.

Chaos (SHO & Tomohiro Ishii) over Bullet Club (Chase Owens & Kenny Omega) by pinfall with the vertical drop brainbuster from Ishii on Owens.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (SANADA & Tetsuya Naito) over Kota Ibushi & Yujiro Takahashi by submission with Skull End from SANADA on Takahashi.

Michael Elgin over Bad Luck Fale by disqualification when Tama Tonga runs in and beats Elgin with a chair.

Hangman Page over Togi Makabe by pinfall with Rite of Passage.

“Switchblade” Jay White over YOSHI-HASHI by pinfall with Blade Runner.

Hiroshi Tanahashi over EVIL by pinfall with High Fly Flow.

Kazuchika Okada over Minoru Suzuki by pinfall with the Rainmaker.

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats