clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Japan G1 Climax 28 results for Sunday, Aug. 12: Ibushi vs. Tanahashi, Rey Mysterio, and more

NJPW World

It’s that time of year again, and New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW)'s G1 Climax tournament is back to ruin sleep schedules all over the globe!

This year's version, the 28th annual, will feature 20 men competing across 19 dates for a spot in the finals on August 12. Each show will be broadcast worldwide on New Japan's streaming service, NJPW World.

We'll have open threads & results for each show (past results can be found here) as well as the standard match recommendation posts at regular intervals throughout the tournament, so why not watch along with the best pro wrestling community on the internet?

Final standings

15 Points

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (A Block Winner, 7-1-1)

13 Points

  • Kazuchika Okada (A Block, 6-2-1)

12 Points

  • “Switchblade” Jay White (A Block, 6-3)
  • Kenny Omega (B Block, 6-3)
  • Kota Ibushi (B Block Winner, 6-3 with tiebreaker wins over Omega, Naito, and Sabre)
  • Tetsuya Naito (B Block, 6-3)
  • Zack Sabre, Jr. (B Block, 6-3)

10 Points

  • EVIL (A Block, 5-4)
  • Minoru Suzuki (A Block, 5-4)
  • Tomohiro Ishii (B Block, 5-4)

8 Points

  • SANADA (B Block, 4-5)

6 Points

  • Hangman Page (A Block, 3-6)
  • Michael Elgin (A Block, 3-6)
  • Togi Makabe (A Block, 3-6)
  • YOSHI-HASHI (A Block, 3-6)
  • Hirooki Goto (B Block, 3-6)
  • Juice Robinson (B Block, 2-6)
  • Tama Tonga (B Block, 3-6)
  • Toru Yano (B Block, 3-6)

4 Points

  • Bad Luck Fale (A Block, 2-7)

Our nineteenth and final day of action takes place in Tokyo’s legendary Nippon Budokan, kicking off at a ripe 2AM Eastern / 11PM Pacific, and it's all come down to Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Kota Ibushi in the finals, the winner of which will go on to main event Wrestle Kingdom against IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kenny Omega.

Great Bash Heel (Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma) & Michael Elgin over Ayato Yoshida, Shota Umino, & Yuji Nagata by pinfall with the King Kong Knee Drop from Makabe on Yoshida.

Bad Luck Fale over Toa Henare by pinfall with Bad Luck Fall.

Suzuki-gun (Taichi & Takashi Iizuka) over Chaos (Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI) by pinfall with a Tenryu powerbomb from Taichi on YOSHI-HASHI.

Bullet Club (Cody Rhodes & Hangman Page) over David Finlay & Juice Robinson by pinfall with the Kudo Driver from Rhodes on Robinson.

Rhodes cuts a promo running Juice down for getting praise for “doing a bad impression of Kairi Sane” and lays claim to the IWGP United States Championship.

Firing Squad (Taiji Ishimori, Tama Tonga, & Tanga Loa) over Bullet Club (Marty Scurll, Matt Jackson, & Nick Jackson) (c) by pinfall with a Gun Stun from Tonga on Scurll to win the NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Championship.

After the match, the Firing Squad throw the titles at the feet of a stunned NJPW President Harold Meij before leaving.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, EVIL, SANADA, & Tetsuya Naito) over Suzuki-gun (El Desperado, Minoru Suzuki, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, & Zack Sabre, Jr.) by submission with Skull End from SANADA on Kanemaru.

Chaos (“Switchblade” Jay White, Tomohiro Ishii, & Toru Yano) over Bullet Club (Chase Owens, Kenny Omega, & Yujiro Takahashi) by pinfall with the vertical drop brainbuster from Ishii on Owens.

Post-match, Ishii issues a challenge to Omega for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship!

KUSHIDA, Pro Wrestler Sengoku Enbu, & Rey Mysterio, Jr. over Chaos (Kazuchika Okada, SHO, & YOH) by pinfall with the 619 into the springboard splash from Mysterio on YOH.

Hiroshi Tanahashi over Kota Ibushi by pinfall with High Fly Flow to win his third G1 Climax. (G1 Climax 28 Finals)

Enjoy the show!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats