clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (July 19): MINUS. FIVE. STARS.

56 years ago today in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Verne Gagne and Leo Nomellini defeated Murder Inc. (Tiny Mills and Stan Kowalski) to win the AWA World Tag Team Championship.

19 years ago today, ECW presented Heatwave '97 from the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

  • Mikey Whipwreck & Spike Dudley defeated Jason & PG-13 (JC Ice & Wolfie D) in a 2-on-3 handicap match.
  • Axl Rotten defeated Tracy Smothers.
  • John Kronus defeated Pablo Marquez.
  • Bam Bam Bigelow & Chris Candido defeat Balls Mahoney & Chris Chetti.
  • Taz defeated Lance Storm via submission to retain the ECW Television Championship.
  • Terry Funk defeated Shane Douglas by disqualification to retain the ECW Heavyweight Championship.
  • The Gangstas (Mustafa & New Jack) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray Dudley & D-Von Dudley) in a steel cage weapons match to win the ECW Tag Team Championship.
  • Jerry Lawler, Rob Van Dam, and Sabu versus Rick Rude, The Sandman, and Tommy Dreamer was ruled a no contest. Rick Rude turned on Sandman and Dreamer, leading to a long brawl. The brawl also served as the final original ECW appearance for Jerry Lawler. Lawler's final appearance came eight years later at the reunion show ECW One Night Stand.

13 years ago today, Ring of Honor presented Death Before Dishonor from the Rex Plex in Elizabeth, New Jersey.

  • Low Ki defeated Deranged.
  • Matt Stryker defeated Jimmy Rave.
  • The Texas Wrestling Academy (Don Juan, Fast Eddie, Hotstuff Hernandez, and Rudy Boy Gonzales) defeated The Carnage Crew (DeVito, Justin Credible, Loc, and Masada) in an tag team weapons match.
  • The Purists (John Walters & Tony Mamaluke) defeated The Outcast Killaz (Diablo Santiago & Oman Tortuga).
  • Tom Carter defeated Doug Williams.
  • BJ Whitmer defeated Colt Cabana, Dan Maff, and Homicide in a Four Corners Survival match for the #1 Contender's Trophy.
  • Special K (Angel Dust, Dixie, Hydro, and Mikey Whipwreck) defeated The Backseat Boyz (Johnny Kashmere & Trent Acid) and The SAT (Joel Maximo & Jose Maximo) in an tag team scramble match.
  • Jeff Hardy defeated Joey Matthews and Krazy K in a three-way dance.
  • CM Punk defeated Raven in a dog collar match.
  • AJ Styles & The Amazing Red defeated The Briscoes (Jay Briscoe & Mark Briscoe) to retain the ROH World Tag Team Championship.
  • Samoa Joe defeated Paul London to retain the ROH World Championship.

7 years ago today, TNA presented Victory Road from the Impact Zone at Universal Orlando.

The show was a runaway winner for Worst Major Show by Wrestling Observer Newsletter, with 82% of the first place votes.

1 year ago today, WWE presented Battleground from the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri. About 11,000 were in attendance, with 76,000 homes watching on PPV.

  • In a preshow match, King Barrett defeated R-Truth to retain the King of the Ring crown.
  • Randy Orton defeated Sheamus.
  • The Prime Time Players (Darren Young and Titus O'Neil) defeated The New Day (Big E and Kofi Kingston) to retain the WWE Tag Team Championship.
  • Bray Wyatt defeated Roman Reigns.
  • Charlotte defeated Brie Bella and Sasha Banks by submission in a triple threat match.
  • John Cena defeated Kevin Owens by submission to retain the WWE United States Championship.
  • Brock Lesnar defeated Seth Rollins by disqualification in a WWE World Heavyweight Championship match. The match, initially ruled a no contest, saw the return of The Undertaker to WWE programming. He was last seen at Wrestlemania defeating Bray Wyatt.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats