clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (June 14): Murica!

34 years ago today in Green Bay, Wisconsin, Jim Brunzell & Greg Gagne defeated Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura to win the AWA World Tag Team Championship.

31 years ago today in Tokyo, Japan, Antonio Inoki wins the International Wrestling Grand Prix. Andre the Giant finished second, and Tatsumi Fujinami finished third. It was the seventh time Inoki won New Japan Pro Wrestling's annual league tournament (known today as the G1 Climax), but the first since 1981.

27 years ago today, WCW presented NWA Clash of the Champions VII: Guts and Glory (WWE Network link) from the Ritz-Epps Fitness Center in Fort Bragg, North Carolina.  The show's main hook was the conclusion of a tournament to crown new NWA world tag team champions.

  • The Fabulous Freebirds (Jimmy Garvin & Michael Hayes) defeated The Dynamic Dudes (Johnny Ace & Shane Douglas) in a NWA World Tag Team Title Tournament semifinal match.
  • Ranger Ross defeated The Terrorist in just 85 seconds.
  • The Ding Dongs (Fred Deaton & Joel Deaton) defeated Cougar Jay & George South.
  • The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) defeated The Samoan Swat Team (Fatu & Samu) in a NWA World Tag Team Title Tournament semifinal match.
  • Steve Williams and Terry Gordy fought to a double countout.
  • Norman The Lunatic defeated Mike Justice in just 47 seconds.
  • The Varsity Club (Kevin Sullivan & Mike Rotunda) defeated The Steiner Brothers (Rick Steiner & Scott Steiner).
  • Sting defeated Bill Irwin to retain the NWA World Television Championship.
  • The Fabulous Freebirds (Jimmy Garvin & Michael Hayes) defeated The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) to win the vacant NWA World Tag Team Championship.
  • Ricky Steamboat defeated Terry Funk by disqualification.

23 years ago today in Columbus, Ohio, The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeated Money Inc. (Ted DiBiase and Irwin R. Schyster) to win the WWF Tag Team Championship. It would be the first of three tag title changes in a five-day period during a house show run. Money Inc. would win them back in Rockford, Illinois two days later, only to lose them again to the Steiners in St. Louis three days later.

18 years ago today, WCW presented The Great American Bash (WWE Network link) from the Baltimore Arena in Baltimore, Maryland. 12,810 were in attendance, with 290,000 homes watching on PPV. That's up from 220,000 homes for the 1997 edition.

  • Booker T defeated Chris Benoit to win their best-of-seven head to head series 4-3. The win also gave Booker T a WCW World Television Championship match later in the show.
  • Kanyon defeated Saturn.
  • Chris Jericho defeated Dean Malenko by disqualification to win the vacant WCW Cruiserweight Championship.
  • Juventud Guerrera defeated Reese.
  • Chavo Guerrero, Jr. defeated Eddie Guerrero.
  • Booker T defeated Fit Finlay to win the WCW World Television Championship.
  • Goldberg defeated Konnan in under two minutes to retain the WCW United States Championship. In a side nugget, the win gave Goldberg and even 100 wins without a single loss.
  • Hollywood Hogan and Bret Hart defeated Roddy Piper and Randy Savage by submission.
  • Roddy Piper defeated Randy Savage by submission in just 97 seconds.
  • Sting defeated The Giant to win both WCW Tag Team Championships. The win allowed Sting to choose his own partner to become tag champions with. Sting chose Kevin Nash.

6 years ago today on RAW from Charlotte, North Carolina, The Miz defeated R-Truth, John Morrison, and Zack Ryder in a fatal four-way match to win the WWE United States Championship.

1 year ago today, WWE presented Money in the Bank (WWE Network link) from the Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio. 15,747 were in attendance, with 57,000 homes watching via traditional PPV. That's down from 122,000 for the 2014 edition.

  • In a kickoff show match, R-Truth defeated King Barrett.
  • Sheamus defeated Neville, Roman Reigns, Randy Orton, Kofi Kingston, Kane, and Dolph Ziggler in a Money in the Bank ladder match for a guaranteed WWE World Heavyweight Championship match within one year.
  • Nikki Bella defeated Paige to retain the WWE Divas Championship.
  • Big Show defeated Ryback by disqualification in a WWE Intercontinental Championship match.
  • John Cena defeated Kevin Owens.
  • The Prime Time Players (Darren Young & Titus O'Neil) defeated The New Day (Big E & Xavier Woods) to win the WWE Tag Team Championship.
  • Seth Rollins defeated Dean Ambrose in a ladder match to retain the WWE World Heavyweight Championship.

It's a happy 70th birthday for Donald John Trump.

Known these days as the presumptive Republican nominee in the upcoming United States Presidential election, Trump's put on many hats in his life, including businessman, television personality, and author.

Wrestling connection: he hosted Wrestlemanias IV and V in Atlantic City (still the only city to host consecutive Wrestlemanias) and appeared in four others (VII, XX, 23—where he shaved his friend Vince McMahon's head, and 29). Trump's Taj Mahal in Atlantic City hosted one of only two World Bodybuilding Federation events ever, the 1991 WBF Championship.

He briefly "owned" Monday Night RAW in 2009; during his one week of "ownership", he refunded the tickets for everyone in attendance that night, over $200,000. Trump was inducted into the celebrity wing of the WWE Hall of Fame.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats