clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (Apr. 4): One Year From Now, Once In A Lifetime

31 years ago today in Spartanburg, South Carolina, Jack and Jerry Brisco defeated Wahoo McDaniel and Mark Youngblood to win the NWA World Tag Team Championship.

23 years ago today, WWF presented Wrestlemania IX (WWE Network link) from Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada. 16,891 were in attendance, with 430,000 homes watching on PPV. That's up from 390,000 for Wrestlemania VIII.

This was the first Wrestlemania to take place in an outdoor venue, which in reality was a constructed outdoor stadium made just for the event. The show is noted for the debut of Jim Ross, who came over after a buyout of his WCW deal. He would remain with the company for most of the next 20 years.

Match ratings are from Wrestling Observer Newsletter's Dave Meltzer as recorded in the Internet Wrestling Database. Ratings are out of a possible five stars.

  • In a dark match, Tito Santana defeated Papa Shango.
  • Tatanka defeated Shawn Michaels by countout in a WWF Intercontinental Championship match. (3.5/5)
  • The Steiner Brothers (Rick and Scott) defeated The Headshrinkers (Fatu and Samu). (2.5)
  • Doink the Clown defeated Crush. (1.5)
  • Razor Ramon defeated Bob Backlund. This was Backlund's first televised pinfall loss. Seriously. (-1)
  • Money Inc. (Ted DiBiase and Irwin R. Schyster) defeated The Mega-Maniacs (Hulk Hogan and Brutus Beefcake) by disqualification to retain the WWF Tag Team Championship. (2)
  • Lex Luger defeated Mr. Perfect. (1.25)
  • The Undertaker defeated Giant Gonzales by disqualification. (1.25)
  • Yokozuna defeated Bret Hart to win the WWF Championship. Post-match, Hulk Hogan came out to dispute the decision. Mr. Fuji on behalf of Yokozuna challenge Hogan to a WWF title match. (3)
  • Hulk Hogan defeated Yokozuna in just 22 seconds to win the WWF Championship. This would be the fastest championship win in Wrestlemania history until Kane disposed of Chavo Guerrero in ten seconds for the ECW Championship at Wrestlemania XXIV. (0)

22 years ago today in Hiroshima, Japan, Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Shinya Hashimoto to win the IWGP Heavyweight Championship for a record fifth time. He would add to his record by winning it again in 1998. The record stood 2014 when Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated AJ Styles to win the IWGP Heavyweight Championship for a seventh time.

ECW 03 04 1998 - Bam Bam Bigelow Vs Rob Van Dam by RAWISKARIM

18 years ago today, Rob Van Dam defeated Bam Bam Bigelow to win the ECW World Television Championship. He would hold the championship for an even 700 days before being forced to vacate it due to injury in March 2000.

16 years ago today, Shawn Michaels comes out of retirement and defeats Venom to win the Texas Wrestling Alliance Championship in a street fight. Michaels immediately vacates the title and re-retires. He unretires again when he returns to WWE in 2002, then retired again in 2010.

5 years ago today Ring of Honor airs the final episode of ROH on HDNet. In the featured bout, Davey Richards and The Briscoes (Mark & Jay) defeat Roderick Strong and The Kings of Wrestling (Claudio Castignoli & Chris Hero).

5 years ago today, WWE signs Jonathan Good, aka Jon Moxley of Dragon Gate USA and CZW fame. Good today is known as Dean Ambrose.

5 years ago today on RAW from Atlanta, Georgia, The Rock and John Cena agree to a match at Wrestlemania XXVIII. It's believed to be the first time in company history a match has been confirmed a full year in advance. Their meeting headlined Wrestlemania XXVIII, which would be the most-bought PPV in WWE history.

On the same show, Sin Cara makes his WWE debut, running in following Sheamus defeating Daniel Bryan to retain the WWE United States Championship.

2 years ago today, Ring of Honor presented Supercard of Honor VIII from the John A. Alario Sr. Center in Westwego, Louisiana.

  • In a preshow dark match, Luke Hawx defeated Corey Hollis, Mike Posey, and The Romantic Touch in a four-way match.

  • Roderick Strong defeated Cedric Alexander.

  • The Decade (BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs) & Adam Page defeat Adrenaline RUSH (ACH & Tadarius Thomas) & Andrew Everett.

  • RD Evans defeated Silas Young by disqualification.

  • Michael Bennett defeated Mark Briscoe in a no disqualification match.

  • reDRagon (Bobby Fish & Kyle O'Reilly) defeated Forever Hooligans (Alex Koslov & Rocky Romero) and War Machine (Hanson & Raymond Rowe) in a three-team match.

  • Jay Lethal defeated Tommaso Ciampa 2-0 in a best of three falls match to win the ROH World Televeision Championship.

  • Michael Elgin defeated Kevin Steen to become the #1 contender for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship.

  • Adam Cole defeated Jay Briscoe in Ladder War V to become the undisputed ROH World Champion.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats