clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mick Foley, Shawn Michaels headline Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame class of 2017

Vince McMahon’s annual pre-WrestleMania party isn’t the only Hall of Fame in the world of pro wrestling. TNA has one of their own, and Dave Meltzer has the Wrestling Observer Hall. There’s also one which shares a philosophy with Meltzer’s in having inductees chosen by veterans and historians of the buisness (rather than a promoter) - and that has an actual museum with exhibits honoring Hall of Famers. That’s the non-profit Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame (PWHF) in Wichita Falls, Texas.

PWHF President Johnny Mantell recently revealed the members of the 2017 class, the 16th group to be inducted into this Hall. The biggest names on the list are the two “Modern Era” stars (the Pro Wrestling Hall has seven active categories from which they pick inductees: Pioneer, Television & Modern Eras, Tag Team, International, Ladies and non-participants), Shawn Michaels & Mick Foley.

Here’s the full list of the 2017 class, which will be enshrined on Saturday, May 20, 2017 in Wichita Falls:

Pioneer Division (1865-1942)

Yvon Robert
Dirty Dick Raines

Television Era (1943-1984)

Luther Lindsay
Sputnik Monroe

Modern Era (1985-present)

Mick Foley
Shawn Michaels

Tag Team Division

Larry Hennig & Harley Race

International Division

Tatsumi Fujinami

Ladies Division

Susan Green

Colleague Division

George Napolitano (photographer)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats