clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (January 9): Champions In Bed

57 years ago today in St. Louis, Missouri, Pat O'Connor defeated Dick Hutton to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship. O'Connor during his run would go on to be recognized as the first AWA World Heavyweight Champion, but as he did defend the championship within 90 days, he forfeited the title to Verne Gagne.

54 years ago today in Minneapolis, Minnesota, "Mr. M" Bill Miller defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Heavyweight Championship. As he was the AWA United States Champion as well, that championship was vacated and subsequently retired.

23 years ago today in Boston, Massachusetts, Bret Hart defeated Ric Flair 3-2 in a 60-minute Ironman match to retain the WWF Championship. Hart won the deciding fall with 18 seconds remaining when he reversed a figure four leglock into an inside cradle. It is believed to be the first Ironman match in WWF history.

16 years ago today, ECW presented Guilty as Charged (WWE Network link) from the Boutwell Memorial Auditorium in Birmingham, Alabama.

  • In a dark match, Bill Whiles defeated Tom Marquez.
  • C.W. Anderson defeated Mikey Whipwreck.
  • Danny Doring, Amish Roadkill, and Simon Diamond defeated Nova, Kid Kash, and Jazz.
  • Yoshihiro Tajiri and Super Crazy defeated Little Guido and Jerry Lynn.
  • Angel defeated New Jack.
  • Rob Van Dam defeated Sabu to retain the ECW World Television Championship.
  • The Impact Players (Lance Storm and Justin Credible) defeated Tommy Dreamer and Raven to win the ECW World Tag Team Championship.
  • Mike Awesome defeated Spike Dudley to retain the ECW World Heavyweight Championship.

11 years ago today, WWE presented New Year's Revolution (WWE Network link) from the Coliseo de Puerto Rico. 15,764 were in attendance with 275,000 homes watching on PPV. Of note, William Regal, Eugene, and Lita all suffered injuries in the first half hour of the show.

  • In a dark match, Rosey & The Hurricane defeated La Resistance (Sylvain Grenier & Robert Conway).
  • Eugene & William Regal defeated Tomko & Christian to retain the World Tag Team Championship.
  • Trish Stratus defeated Lita to win the WWE Women's Championship. Trish would go on to hold the title for 448 days, the longest since the belt's rebirth in 1998.
  • Shelton Benjamin defeated Maven to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship.
  • Shelton Benjamin defeated Maven to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship in just five seconds.
  • Muhammad Hassan defeated Jerry Lawler.
  • Kane defeated Gene Snitsky.
  • Triple H defeated Edge, Chris Benoit, Chris Jericho, Batista, and Randy Orton in an Elimination Chamber match to win the vacant World Heavyweight Championship. Shawn Michaels was the special referee.
    • Chris Jericho eliminated Edge.
    • Batista eliminated Chris Benoit.
    • Batista eliminated Chris Jericho.
    • Randy Orton eliminated Batista.
    • Triple H defeated Randy Orton.

10 years ago today on RAW from the GIANT Center in Hershey, Pennsylvania, Edge celebrates his first WWE Championship win the only way he knows how: by having sex with Lita right in the ring. True story. The show receives a 4.3 rating, with the live sex celebration segment getting a 5.2, making it both the most watched segment and most watched show since RAW returned to USA Network back in October. The last segment to get a 5.0 rating prior to the "horizontal tango": the Triple H-Batista Wrestlemania 21 contract signing.

Anyway, the live sex celebration--and the entire episode--can be seen courtesy of WWE Network here.

7 years ago today, Stone Cold Steve Austin was announced as the headliner for the WWE Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

7 years ago today, there was a bloodletting amongst WWE staff, as the company announced that 10% of their workforce were being (or have been) let go. Among those receiving their pink slip: former Intercontinental Champions D-Lo Brown and Val Venis, Kevin Thorn, Bam Neely, referee Jimmy Korderas, referee turned producer Tim White, and Vince McMahon's two limo drivers.

5 years ago today, TNA presented Genesis from the Impact Zone at Universal Orlando.

  • Kazarian defeated Jay Lethal to win the TNA X Division Championship.
  • Madison Rayne defeated Mickie James to retain the TNA Knockouts Championship.
  • Beer Money, Inc. (James Storm and Robert Roode) defeated Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley and Chris Sabin) to win the TNA World Tag Team Championship.
  • Bully Ray defeated Brother Devon by disqualification.
  • Abyss defeated Douglas Williams to win the TNA Television Championship.
  • Matt Hardy defeated Rob Van Dam.
  • Kurt Angle fought Jeff Jarrett to a no contest in a "Double-J-Double-M-A exhibition".
  • Mr. Anderson defeated Matt Morgan to become the #1 Contender for the TNA World Heavyweight Championship.
  • Mr. Anderson defeated Jeff Hardy to win the TNA World Heavyweight Championship.

4 years ago today, WWE announces that The Four Horsemen (Arn Anderson, JJ Dillion, Ric Flair, Barry Windham, and Tully Blanchard) and Edge would headline the WWE Hall of Fame class of 2012.

Nxt Championship Match - Seth Rollins VS BIG E... by watchwwe08

3 years, 1 month, and 3 days ago today, Big E Langston defeated Seth Rollins to win the NXT Championship. The match took place on December 6, 2012, but aired on this day in 2013.

1 year ago today, TNA taped Lockdown from the Manhattan Center in New York City. The event was a special episode of Impact airing on February 6. As with past Lockdown events, every match on the show was a steel cage match.

  • The Revolution (Abyss & James Storm) defeated The Hardy Boyz (Jeff Hardy & Matt Hardy) to retain the TNA World Tag Team Championship.
  • Awesome Kong defeated Havok.
  • Bobby Roode defeated Eric Young.
  • Tyrus defeated Mark Andrews and Rockstar Spud in a handicap match.
  • Team Angle (Austin Aries, Gunner, Kurt Angle, and Lashley) defeated Beatdown Clan (Kenny King, Low Ki, MVP, and Samoa Joe) in a Lethal Lockdown match.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats