clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (Sept. 28): Crash the Party

30 years ago today, AWA presented Superclash ‘85: Night of Champions from Comiskey Park in Chicago, Illinois. About 21,000 fans were in attendance for the co-promoted card. NWA, WCCW, and All Japan Pro Wrestling were all represented on the card.

  • Steve Regal defeated Brad Rheingans to retain the AWA World Light Heavyweight Championship.
  • Sherri Martel defeated Candi Devine to win the AWA World Women's Championship.
  • Genichiro Tenryu, Giant Baba, and Jumbo Tsuruta defeat The Long Riders (Bill Irwin & Scott Irwin) and Harley Race.
  • Little Tokyo defeated Little Mr. T to retain the NWA Midgets Championship.
  • Mil Mascaras defeated Buddy Roberts.
  • Kerry Von Erich defeated Jimmy Garvin to retain the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Championship.
  • Curt Hennig, Greg Gagne, and Scott Hall defeat Larry Zbyszko, Nick Bockwinkel, and Ray Stevens.
  • The Road Warriors (Road Warrior Animal & Road Warrior Hawk) defeat The Fabulous Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Terry Gordy) by disqualification to retain the AWA World Tag Team Championship.
  • Ivan Koloff, Krusher Kruschev, and Nikita Koloff defeat Baron von Raschke, Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher.
  • Sgt. Slaughter defeated Boris Zhukov by disqualification to retain the AWA America's Championship.
  • Jerry Blackwell defeated Kamala in a bodyslam match.
  • Rick Martel and Stan Hansen fought to a double disqualification in an AWA World Heavyweight Championship match.
  • Ric Flair defeated Magnum T.A. to retain the NWA World Heavyweight Championship.

29 years ago today in Atlanta, Georgia, Ivan Koloff & Krusher Kruschev defeated Dutch Mantell & Bobby Jaggers in the finals of a one-night tournament to become the first NWA United States Tag Team Champions.

22 years ago today at a WWF Wrestling Challenge taping in Worcester, Massachusetts, Ludvig Borga defeated Tatanka. The loss is the first for Tatanka in a televised match since his TV debut in February 1992. It would get worse for Tatanka: he was taken out by Yokozuna post-match, taking him out of the Survivor Series PPV. Tatanka would be sidelined until early 1994. He would never exactly get revenge on Borga; Ludvig injured his ankle just days before the event.

21 years ago today, WWF tapes the first two episodes of Action Zone from White Plains, New York. In the debut episode, Bret Hart defeated Owen Hart to retain the WWF Championship. Per prematch stipulations, Owen could not challenge for the title again as long as Bret was champion.

Also at the taping, Shawn Michaels and Diesel defeated the 1-2-3 Kid and Razor Ramon to retain the WWF Tag Team Championship.

18 years ago today in Kawasaki Stadium in Kawasaki, Japan, Atsushi Onita defeated Wing Kanemura in a no-ropes, barbed wire, exploding landmine cage match. On the undercard, Masato Tanaka defeated Mike Awesome to unify the FMW Brass Knucles and Independent Heavyweight Championships. Also, Vader defeated Ken Shamrock in an "Ultimate Rules" match. NOTE: THE ABOVE VIDEO MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR ALL VIEWERS.

17 years ago today on RAW is WAR from Detroit, Michigan (WWE Network link), Vince McMahon attempts to award the WWF Championship to Undertaker and/or Kane when Steve Austin crashes the ceremony in a Zamboni. He breaks through security and gets a few free shots in on McMahon before being hauled off in handcuffs. Again. Austin not only broke through security; he broke a few light fixtures and temporarily knocked out audio of the live broadcast. The Zamboni crash is one of the most replayed moments in the show's history.

And in a case of a bad day getting worse, after McMahon made some disparaging remarks towards the Undertaker and Kane (and announcing that the two would face off for the vacated title at the following month's PPV, Judgment Day), the Brothers of Destruction break McMahon's leg.

In the show's main event, The Rock, Ken Shamrock, and Mankind defeated The Undertaker and Kane in a 3-on-2 handicap match.

17 years ago today on Nitro from Rochester New York, Hulk Hogan and Bret Hart fought to a no contest. It is the only singles match between the two in wrestling history.

16 years ago today at a Smackdown taping in Richmond, Virginia (WWE Network link), The British Bulldog and Triple H fought to a no contest in a WWF Championship match. The Rock was the special referee, and it features perhaps the best People's Elbow ever. Ever.

5 years ago today, WWE signed "The Bashing Bulgarian" Miroslav Barnyashev. Trained by Gangrel and Rikishi at Knuxx Pro Wrestling Academy, he has garnered success in WWE as Alexander Rusev.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats