clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Wrestling History (September 1): We Are All Intercontinents

36 years ago today, the WWWF introduces the Intercontinental Heavyweight Championship. Pat Patterson would be its first champion, "having won a tournament in Rio de Janerio". In actuality, Patterson defeated Ted Dibiase to win the WWWF North American Championship back in June; the belt would be replaced with the Intercontinental Championship. Except for a brief period in late 2002 and early 2003, the championship has been around ever since.

36 years ago today in Charlotte, North Carolina, Jimmy Snuka defeated Ricky Steamboat to win the vacated NWA United States Championship (Mid-Atlantic version). The title was vacated when Ric Flair won the NWA World Tag Team Championship with Blackjack Mulligan a few weeks earlier. At the time, the NWA had the one person, one belt rule.

29 years ago today, World Class Wrestling Association presented Labor Day Star Wars from the Tarrant County Convention Center in Fort Worth, Texas. The focus of the show was to crown their first tag team champions since the company's split from the NWA. Before the split, WCWA used the NWA American Tag Team Championship as their tag titles.

First round:

  • Mark Lewin and Kevin Sullivan defeated The Batten Twins (Bart and Brad).
  • Matt Borne and Buzz Sawyer defeated Kevin and Mike Von Erich by countout.
  • Chris and Mark Youngblood defeated Jos LeDuc and Rick Rude by disqualification.
  • The Dingo Warrior and Socko defeated Killer Tim Brooks and The Grappler.


  • Matt Borne and Buzz Sawyer defeated Mark Lewin and Kevin Sullivan.
  • Chris and Mark Youngblood defeated Jerry and Ted Oates.
  • The Dingo Warrior and Socko defeated Brian Adias and Scott Casey.


  • Chris Adams and Lance Von Erich defeated The Dingo Warrior and Socko.
  • Matt Borne and Buzz Sawyer defeated Chris and Mark Youngblood.


  • Matt Borne and Buzz Sawyer defeated Chris Adams and Lance Von Erich to win the WCWA World Tag Team Championship.

Non-tournament bouts in order of occurrence:

  • Chris Adams defeated Rick Rude by disqualification to retain the WCWA Texas Heavyweight Championship.
  • Abdullah the Butcher defeated Bruiser Brody by disqualification.

25 years ago today, wrestling got a little too real for the people of Memphis. During their Saturday morning wrestling broadcast on WMC-TV in Memphis, Eddie Gilbert hit Jerry Lawler with Doug Gilbert's car in the parking lot outside the studio. The collision caused Lawler to suffer a bruised hip after he rolled over the hood of the car. Apparently the angle got so real for some viewers, cops were called to the WMC studios.

17 years ago today, WWF taped a special Saturday Night RAW (WWE Network link) from the Paul Tsongas Arena in Lowell, Massachusetts. The episode did not air until eleven days later due to USA Network's coverage of the US Open, which aired in place of RAW. The episode featured a replay of the Lions Den match from Summerslam between Owen Hart and Ken Shamrock.

  • Edge defeated Jeff Jarrett by disqualification.
  • Bradshaw defeated Darren Drozdov.
  • Marc Mero defeated Miguel Perez.
  • The Disciples Of Apocalypse (8-Ball & Skull) defeated The Oddities (Golga & Kurrgan) by disqualification.
  • Southern Justice (Dennis Knight & Mark Canterbury) defeated Too Much (Brian Christopher & Scott Taylor).
  • Vader defeated Dustin Runnels.
  • The Nation (D-Lo Brown & Mark Henry) defeated The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher) by disqualification.
  • D-Generation X (Billy Gunn, The Road Dogg, Triple H & X-Pac) (w/ Chyna) defeated Kai En Tai (Dick Togo, Mens Teioh, Sho Funaki & Taka Michinoku).

10 years ago today, WWE Smackdown airs for the final time on Thursday night. The show, taped two days earlier from the Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Jacksonville, Florida, would be the last Smackdown on Thursday before moving to Friday the next week (one that most of the country did not get to see; more on that next week). Smackdown returned to its original timeslot earlier this year on SyFy (the show's home since 2008), but the show will change networks again early next year.

  • Heidenreich defeated Mercury by disqualification.
  • Chris Benoit defeated Orlando Jordan by submission in just 23 seconds to retain the WWE United States Championship.
  • Ken Kennedy defeated Booker T.
  • Batista defeated Simon Dean.
  • Paul Burchill & William Regal defeated Funaki & Scotty 2 Hotty.
  • Randy Orton defeated Rey Mysterio.

8 years ago today in Bayamon, Puerto Rico, Adam Pearce defeated Brent Albright to win the vacated NWA World Heavyweight Championship. The title was vacated when NWA ended its partnership with TNA earlier that summer. Pearce took the place of Bryan Danieslon, who suffered a broken orbital bone just a week before the match when facing Takeshi Morishima for the ROH World Championship.

8 years ago today in Cincinnati, Ohio, CM Punk defeated John Morrison to win the ECW Championship. Had Punk lost, he could never challenge Morrison for the title again.

6 years ago today in Cleveland, Ohio, John Morrison defeated Rey Mysterio to win the WWE Intercontinental Championship.

Today would have been the 52nd birthday of Theodore James Petty, or Ted Petty for short.

A graduate of Rutgers University with a degree in nutrition, Petty began wrestling in 1978 as "The Cheetah Kid" after a brief boxing career. He wrestled as Colonel DeKlerk for the NWA in 1990 and appeared on the promotion's signature show, Starrcade.

In 1993, Petty along with Michael Durham became Flyboy Rocco Rock and Johnny Grunge respectively, aka The Public Enemy, a pair of inner city hoodlums. Wrestling first for the Universal Wrestling Federation, they gained infamy in ECW with their frequent uses of tables. The duo captured the ECW tag team titles four times in 1994 and 1995 (only the Dudley Boyz have more tag title reigns in ECW, with eight).

Petty and Durham left the next year for WCW, feuding primarily with The Nasty Boys and Harlem Heat and winning their tag titles briefly in September 1996. After a one-off return to ECW, a two-month stint in the WWF, and an even briefer stint back in WCW, and an even briefer stint than that in ECW (all in 1999), Petty competed largely as a singles wrestler on the independent circuit, most notably for i-Generation Superstars of Wrestling and Turnbuckle Championship Wrestling.

Petty died of a heart attack on September 21, 2002 while traveling to a Pro-Pain Pro Wrestling (3PW) event in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Posthumously, IWA-Mid South renamed its annual Sweet Science Sixteen to the Ted Petty Invitational, a tournament showcasing the top independent wrestlers in the world. Past tournament winners included AJ Styles, BJ Whitmer, Drake Younger, Low Ki, Matt Sydal, and Chris Hero.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats