clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Pro Wrestling History (July 8)

29 years ago today, Don Muraco won the first ever WWF King of the Ring tournament at Sullivan Stadium in Foxboro, Massachusetts. Muraco defeated the Junkyard Dog, Les Thorton, and two former WWF Champions in Pedro Morales and the Iron Sheik in the semifinals and finals to win the tournament.

18 years ago today, on an episode of Nitro from the Disney/MGM Studios in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, Rey Mysterio defeated Dean Malenko to win the WCW Cruiserweight Championship. It's the first of what would be eight cruiserweight title reigns for Mysterio (five in WCW, three in WWE).

12 years ago today, Kevin Nash tore his left quadriceps in his first match since he suffered a torn biceps injury. Nash tripped over Booker T's foot following a big boot to Booker, landing awkwardly on his left leg. In a cruel twist of fate, Nash didn't know he was booked for a match until he got to the building that day (something that happened quite regularly to others during his time in WCW), as it was originally planned for him to return that weekend. The injury killed what was left of the nWo, with Hogan turning face at Wrestlemania X-8 and Scott Hall's firing the previous month. Now we at Cageside Seats are not here to make fun of injuries to others, but Kevin Nash and the torn quad has become something of a meme. So here's the best available video of the injury set to Chariots of Fire.

2 years ago today, TNA held its annual Destination X PPV (pay link) from the Impact Zone in Orlando, Florida. The primary focus was a one-night X Division tournament to crown a new champion after Austin Aries gave up the title for a chance to win the TNA World Heavyweight Championship. Also at the event, Jesse Sorensen made his last television in-ring appearance with the company. He was injured five months earlier at Against All Odds.

  • Mason Andrews defeated Rubix, Dakota Darsow and Lars Only in a Last Chance Four Way match to determine the final qualifier for the TNA X Division Championship Tournament.
  • Mason Andrews defeated Kid Kash in an X Division Championship Tournament Semifinal match.
  • Kenny King defeated Douglas Williams in an X Division Championship Tournament Semifinal match.
  • Sonjay Dutt defeated Rashad Cameron in an X Division Championship Tournament Semifinal match.
  • Zema Ion defeated Flip Cassanova in an X Division Championship Tournament Semifinal match.
  • Samoa Joe defeated Kurt Angle in a Bound for Glory Series match.
  • A.J. Styles defeated Christopher Daniels in a Last Man Standing match.
  • Zema Ion defeated Mason Andrews, Kenny King and Sonjay Dutt in the Ultimate X Tournament Final match to determine the new TNA X Division Champion.
  • Austin Aries defeated Bobby Roode to win the TNA World Heavyweight Championship. Eleven days prior, Aries traded in his X Division Championship for a shot at the world title. He also introduced Option C, meaning that whomever was the champion at the time of the Destination X event would have the same opportunity to give up the championship for a world title opportunity.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats