clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WWE Battleground 2014 results: The Miz wins Intercontinental championship battle royal

An unfortunate shoulder injury suffered by Bad News Barrett forced WWE to have him relinquish the Intercontinental championship. The way they crowed a new champion was by having a 20-man over-the-top-rope battle royal (that ended up being 19 thanks to Rob Van Dam's unexplained absence) at tonight's Battleground pay-per-view (PPV) at the Tampa Bay Times Forum in Tampa, Florida.

Order of elimination:

1. Xavier Woods
2. Zack Ryder
3. Great Khali
4. Sin Cara
5. R-Truth
6. Curtis Axel
7. Damien Sandow
8. Diego
9. Ryback
10. Titus O'Neil
11. Alberto Del Rio
12. Big E
13. Kofi Kingston
14. Cesaro
15. Heath Slater
16. Bo Dallas
17. Sheamus
18. Dolph Ziggler

If you're wondering, Kofi Kingston did, in fact, have a spectacular save during this match, getting thrown to the outside and landing on Big E's shoulders to stay in the match. He was tossed by Cesaro not long after anyway.

Then Cesaro was tossed by Heath Slater, of all people.

The finish saw Sheamus and Dolph Ziggler squaring off as though they were the final two in the match when, in reality, The Miz had quietly escaped under the ropes and been hanging out on the outside throughout the match. So when Ziggler superkicked Sheamus to the outside and celebrated on the ropes, Miz ran in to toss him over the top to win the title.


For complete Battleground results and coverage of every match on the card click here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats