clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

On this date in WCW history: The World Television Championship is born

But it wasn't always known as the WCW World Television Championship.

On February 27, 1974, Mid-Atlantic Wrestling created the NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Championship, won by Danny Miller when he defeated Ole Anderson in a tournament held in Raleigh, North Carolina. It would later be recognized as simply the NWA World Television Championship when Dusty Rhodes bested Tully Blanchard in March of 1985.

It stayed that way for several years, until World Championship Wrestling (WCW) withdrew from the NWA.

The title then became known as the WCW World Television Championship during the reign of Arn Anderson, who is also the man to hold it longer than anyone at 870 days (on four separate occasions), until Jim Duggan had it stripped from him by Eric Bischoff in April of 2000.

A nice video tribute featuring all the WCW World Television Champions, after the jump.

Any Cagesiders out there have a favorite WCW World Television Champion?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Cageside Seats Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your pro wrestling news from Cageside Seats